Key Performance Indicators For Website And PPC For 2022
In 2022, every business by now ought to be familiar with the importance of key performance indicators (KPIs) to the success of their website and PPC campaigns. However, what you may not be quite sure of is the difference between KPIs that truly matter and those that serve little beyond distraction.
Without keeping tabs on the right KPIs, it’s easy for your website and PPC campaigns to seem like they’re on the right track when they are the furthest thing from it. So to help you out, our digital marketing agency has rounded up those paid search KPIs and website KPIs 2022 that matter most.
Let’s start with important PPC KPIs to track in 2022:
Average position
Your PPC ads go toe-to-toe with countless other competitor ads in a struggle to wrestle a place in top SERP positions. The average position statistics show you how your ad ranks or compares to others, and it’s one of the top paid search KPIs to keep your eye on in 2022.
A low average position means it’s time to get tinkering, and some ways to improve your average position include:
- Ensuring your PPC directs to the right landing page per your keywords
- Reviewing your ad copies to target relevant keywords
- Improving your quality score by incorporating more relevant ad extensions
It’d also do you a world of good to scrutinize ads and websites ranking above you to determine why and how they’re beating you to the punch.
Click-through rate (CTR)
Among eCommerce website KPIs and PPC KPIs, CTR is right up there in terms of vital metrics to have at the back of your mind. Your click-through rate simply refers to a measure of how often users click on PPC ads or other links leading to your website.
For paid search ads, the average CTR stands at 1.9%, and the alarm bells should be sounding if you realize anything lower. If you aren’t quite sure how to calculate your CTR, here’s how to do it.
- Work out the total number of ad views (total impressions)
- Determine your total number of clicks
- Divide total clicks by ad views, then convert this to a percentage
The best digital marketing services for eCommerce will recommend you optimize your headline, include compelling CTAs, and tap into more alluring images if you’re having trouble raising your CTR.
Cost per acquisition
Cost per acquisition (CPA) and Cost per click are essential PPC KPIs to have on your radar, and they basically uncover how much you spend on each conversion.
It’s prudent to keep track of both because many businesses are often fooled by a high CPC which may not necessarily translate to a good CPA. For example, you may get 50 clicks from spending $100 to earn 4 conversions. This means your CPC is $2, which is music to the ears, while your CPA is $25, which isn’t as pleasing to look at.
If your CPA looks worrying, our digital marketing service Ohio has a few tricks up its sleeves you could borrow, namely:
- Refining your audience segmentation and targeting
- Creating dedicated landing pages
- Fine Tuning your bids to meet market and consumer changes
We also recommend you regularly update your negative keywords list.
ROAS
Your Return on ad spend essentially lets you know whether or not you’re in the red, after taking out marketing and acquisition costs. It’s an important paid search campaign KPI that lets you know if your business is thriving, or you’re running into the ground.
Work out your ROAS by dividing your total earnings against your total campaign cost. To break even, you’ll need to at least hit a ratio of 1:1 although most top digital marketing agencies will recommend you shoot for four times as much.
Here are a few tips on how to raise your ROAS above the industry average of 2:1:
- Spend less on ads by reworking your bidding strategy
- Go for a lower ad position. Hear us out, you can spend significantly less if you go for 3rd spot as opposed to the top SERP position, and still get your ad in front of plenty of eyeballs
Now onto important website KPIs 2022 to watch out for
Page speed
Right behind seeing your loved one in anguish, a slow page speed (loading time) is one of the most horrible things in life. You wouldn’t wish it on your worst customers.
One SEMrush study finds that none of your visitors will stick around if your page loads for more than 10 seconds, which means that even the best SEO services don’t mean squat if your website is as slow as molasses.
Lucky for you, our digital marketing company suggests a few quick fixes to get things moving again:
- Compress your website images
- Implement browser caching
- Put a stop to auto-streaming videos
Pages per session
One of the goals of your website is to ensure visitors have reasons to stay on for as long as possible, so they get a chance to view your offerings. Your pages-per-session gives you an idea of how well you’re doing in regard to website engagement and refers to the average number of pages a visitor lands on during a single session.
For example, say a lead winds up on one of your blog posts via organic search and clicks through a hyperlink to a related article, reads that, and then leaves. In this case, your pages per session would be 2, which coincidentally is the industry average. Anything less than 1.4 counts as underperforming as per session benchmarks in 2022.
Pages per session is one of the most important google analytics website KPIs, and you can improve yours by:
- Interlinking more relevant articles to each other
- Collecting customer feedback
- Keeping your website design and navigation simple
It also helps to create a lot of content around the same topic and to forge irresistible headlines.
Bounce rate
Your website’s bounce rate refers to the percentage of users who click through to your web page but leave soon after without performing any action in the way of:
- Buying a product
- Filling out a form
- Hitting a link, etc.
- Viewing another page
A bounce rate of 20 to 40% should have you in the clear, however, anything above 90% is a red flag. And you shouldn’t be popping champagne either if it’s suspiciously low i.e. below 10%.
To remedy your bounce rates, our digital marketing company recommends you check for broken links, review your website’s cross-platform responsiveness, include clear CTAs, and examine your page loading speed, among others.
Keyword rankings
How often do you review your keyword rankings? Our digital marketing company recommends you do so a couple of times a month, advisably one or two times at either end of every week. This way, you’ll get wind of lags, big jumps, and increases.
Depending on which tool you use, be sure to gauge how your rankings are faring against the competition. More importantly, get a good picture of keywords that are gaining relevance and those that you’re presently ranking for so you can continually refine your keyword-building process.
Are you certain you’re tracking the right KPIs?
Just winging it won’t cut it if you’d like to make your website and PPC campaign successful. It’s vital to plan out your B2B website KPIs and paid search KPIs according to your niche and goals. With so many factors to consider and endless metrics to track, it’s easy to get it all mixed up but the best digital marketing services can help you focus on that which matters most. Turn to Genexod for help setting up and tracking appropriate KPIs.